Greenville Tech re-organizes academic schools

Greenville Technical College
Photo by Will Crooks

Greenville Technical College is changing its academic schools to better align with programs in Greenville County Schools and the county’s target industries, the college announced in a statement.

The six new academic schools will be called: the School of Aviation, Construction, and Transportation Technologies; the School of Business and Computer Technology; the School of Advanced Manufacturing and Engineering Technology; the School of Health Sciences; the School of Education and Professional Studies; and the School of Arts and Sciences.

All of Greenville Tech’s programs will now fall under one of the six new academic departments — the school previously had seven divisions.

“This change from divisions to schools is significant in helping students find what they are
interested in so that they can move forward with their futures,” Jermaine Whirl, vice president for learning and workforce development, said in the statement. “By aligning with the pathways students are accustomed to in Greenville County Schools, we provide a more seamless path from where they are to the career they plan to enter.”


Related Articles