Greenville Chamber honors leaders at annual meeting


The Greenville Chamber held its 128th Annual Meeting, presented by TD Bank, on Tuesday, Jan. 31, at the TD Convention Center. The event, emceed by Merl Code, featured the presentation of the Chamber’s annual awards, remarks from new Chamber President and CEO Carlos Phillips, and the passing of the gavel from 2016 Board of Directors Chair David Lominack to 2017 Chair Brenda Thames.

The meeting featured the presentation of the following annual awards:

The ATHENA Leadership Award

Presented to Pamela Evette, founder of Quality Business Solutions, for serving as a leader for women and the community as a whole throughout her career. The award, sponsored by Hughes Agency, honors individuals who assist women in reaching their full leadership potential; demonstrate excellence, creativity, and initiative in their business or profession; and provide valuable service by devoting time and energy to improve the quality of life for others in the community.

The Buck Mickel Leadership Award

Awarded to former United States Secretary of Education and former Governor of South Carolina Dick Riley for his passionate leadership, vision, and service. The award, sponsored by Clemson University, honors those who have had a dramatic impact on the community by playing a leadership role in solving critical community issues, strengthening the community, or providing visionary leadership to a major community development project.

The Max Heller Neighborhood Improvement Award

Presented to Genesis Homes, noting especially their revitalization efforts in low-to–moderate income areas in the Upstate through the development of affordable housing for homeownership or home rental. Executive Director Jim Childress accepted the award. The award, sponsored by BlueCross Blue Shied, is given annually to an organization that has shown exemplary efforts toward neighborhood improvement and empowerment. The award is named in honor of former Greenville Mayor Max Heller, who spearheaded numerous efforts over the years to improve the quality of life for all citizens of Greenville County.

The Minority Business of the Year Award

Presented to IG Global Sourcing LLC. Sponsored by Bank of America, the award is presented to a local, independently, and minority-owned company that has been in business for a minimum of three years. President Robert Chandler accepted the award.

The Small Business of the Year Award

Sponsored by Dixon Hughes Goodman LLP, the award was presented to Intellectual Capitol (ICAP). ICAP provides a full range of critical information technology staffing services and solutions to organizations throughout the Southeast. ICAP is a certified, woman-owned business with over 30 employees. Owners Traci and Barry Newkirk accepted the award.

The Chairman’s Award

Sponsored by Ogletree Deakins Nash Smoak & Stewart, the award was presented to Wil Brasington, executive director of the Clemson Alumni Association.

The Leadership Greenville Distinguished Alumni Award

Presented to Bob Howard, a graduate of Leadership Greenville Class 3. Howard became president of the Greenville Tech Foundation in January 2008 and retired at the end of 2016. The award, sponsored by GSP Airport District, recognizes a Leadership Greenville alum who has made outstanding civic and community contributions.

The Young Professional of the Year Award

Presented to Kimberly Witherspoon, a shareholder in Haynsworth Sinkler Boyd’s Greenville office, where she practices in the public finance area. The award, sponsored by BB&T, is designed to recognize an individual between the ages of 22 and 39 for his or her involvement in the community.

The F. Ben Haskew Collaboration Award

Sponsored by Furman University, the award, first presented to former Chamber CEO Ben Haskew in 2016, was presented for its second time to recognize Upstate leaders who display progressive visions and a partnership approach to responsible growth in the Upstate. Hollingsworth Funds’ President and CEO Jim Terry and Senior Vice President Gage Weeks accepted the award.

Top: Photo by Alaina Lutkitz



Related Articles